Time Waster Time Saver Thursdays

Is your brain on overload, and you feel overwhelmed? If you’re like me, after 5 kids I have ZERO brain cells left, especially those memory ones. I thoroughly believe that with each baby I delivered they also took part of my brain. I find myself often going about my day forgetting what I was doing, where I need to go, who I needed to call, etc. And, I have many of those moments. I walk into a room and wonder what I needed to do in this room? AHHHH, PLEASE give me my brain back or find a cure for this forgetful MOM syndrome.

 
 
Time Waster: Are you filling your brain trying to remember all the TO DO’s, TO GO’s and TO CALLS? ONLY to have get hit with the forgetful MOM Syndrome?
 

 

 

 

 
 
Time Saver: Become addicted to WRITING it down.

– Create MASTER To Do, To Go and To Call lists for all areas of your life.

– Keep a note pad in your bathroom drawer. Often when I am getting ready in the morning I think of so many things I need to do, so I quickly jot them down, then take it to my desk and transfer to my master lists.

– Keep a note pad in your car. While being the MOM taxi or running my errands it seems I always think of things I need to remember. So, I can easily write them down on my pad of paper, then tear it off and take it to my desk to be placed on my master lists.

– Teach/ask your family members to leave notes for you on your desk or kitchen counter or create a hanging message center. If they need you to make an appointment for them, pick up a new bottle of shampoo, sign them up for a activity, etc. have them writeit down for you. These notes will assist the MOM memory.

– Use DAILY planner sheets to organize your days. I use the daily pages from http://www.thebusywoman.com/. These pages have sections for priorities (To Doʼs), Appointments, To Be called, Chores, Menu, and Notes. Each Sunday I sit down and fill these out so I have in writing what my week will entail. And, keep the forgetful MOM syndrome under control.

Have you experienced the forgetful MOM syndrome? Comment and share with the 24/7 MOMS your TIPS on MOM Memory.

– Teach/ask your family members to leave notes for you on your desk or kitchen counter or create a hanging message center. If they need you to make an appointment for them, pick up a new bottle of shampoo, sign them up for a activity, etc. have them writeit down for you. These notes will assist the MOM memory.

– Use DAILY planner sheets to organize your days. I use the daily pages from http://www.thebusywoman.com/. These pages have sections for priorities (To Doʼs), Appointments, To Be called, Chores, Menu, and Notes. Each Sunday I sit down and fill these out so I have in writing what my week will entail. And, keep the forgetful MOM syndrome under control.

Have you experienced the forgetful MOM syndrome? Comment and share with the 24/7 MOMS your TIPS on MOM Memory.

 

This entry was posted in Home Keeping, organization. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Time Waster Time Saver Thursdays

  1. momisbestjob says:

    In addition to keeping a note pad in my car and bathroom, I keep one on my night stand so that when I am laying in bed thinking of all the things a forgot to do, I can write them down and my mind will finally shut off so I can go to sleep

  2. momisbestjob says:

    I use post it notes a lot! If I made a breakfast casserole the night before to take to my MOPS meeting the next morning, I put a post it note on my mirror reminding me to put my food in the oven.If I need to remember to take something out the door with me in the AM or do an errand that I don’t normally do, I put a post it on my front door so I see it when I am walking out the door.Even my 7 year old knows me. She will say “just write yourself a note” when I ask her to help me remember to do something! LOL

  3. cristina says:

    i keep a SMALL (key to keeping this working) basket by the door for outgoing stuff: store returns (with receipt IN bag), library books, things for friends, etc.on my good days, i will set my watch’s timer and force myself to FOCUS on a task for 15 minutes, so that i don’t get distracted by some other chore when i see it…e.g., i’ll pass the unfolded laundry and remind myself, i’m getting the windex to get the bathroom finished up, i can do laundry stuff during the next 15-minute session. i wish there were more “good days” these days…i just found your blog…excited to be back and visit. we met in nashville at the focus group for MOPS convention….i think…lost brain cells since then. 🙂

Leave a Reply

